Vegan Sushi Sauce Part 1

I am sure you know the feeling of wishing you could get the recipe for your feavourite meal at a restaurant so you can make it at home whenever you crave it.

For me that one speecial recipe would be the recipe for the sauce you get at the Asian restaurant I like to go to with my friends for vegan avocado and cucumber sushi. Yes, I am sure I do not mean regular soy sauce. It is a lot sweeter and thicker, kind of sticky. I think it tastes a little like peanuts but that might only be because one of my friends once called it peanut sauce and I probably convinced myself that is what it is.

IMG_1738

For my first attempt I mixed soy sauce, unsweetened and unsalted crunchy peanut butter, water and a little brown sugar in a small bowl. It did not taste bad but was not exactyl what I was looking for. I am not sure if I am looking for something that looks and tastes exctaly like the sauce from the restaurant or just something that makes me feel equally satisfied with my sushi / avocado experience.

This tasted quite good but looked a little weird. It would probably look better if you used smooth peanut butter instead of crunchy peanut butter because what made it look less appealing (to me) were the big peanut butter chunks.

Anyway. Not too bad for a first try. I will keep you updated.

Check out part 2 here.

IMG_1741

One thought on “Vegan Sushi Sauce Part 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

